Van Avermaet beats Sagan in Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) won his first race of the season at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad with a consummate performance that was capped by a sprint finish that saw off world champion Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) and Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal).

The trio had been part of an elite group that had initially formed Taaienberg along with Luke Rowe (Team Sky). Despite a late charge from the peloton the break stayed clear.

In the sprint, Van Avermaet hit out first with Sagan and Benoot fighting for his wheel. The BMC rider created a small gap and it was enough to seal victory with Sagan unable to respond in the closing metres.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2016 results:

1 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


2 Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)


3 Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)


4 Luke Rowe (Sky)


5 Alexis Gougeard (AG2R)


6 Jens Debusschere (Lotto Soudal)


7 Adrien Petit (Direct Energie)


8 Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)


9 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


10 Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ)