Valverde leads Movistar in Ruta del Sol

Alejandro Valverde will try to win for the 4th time the Vuelta a Andalucía after last year he skipped the spanish race. The Movistar’s rider won the event three times in a row between 2012 and 2014. Together with the UCI’s World No. 1 in 2015 will be the two stage winners from the Movistar Team last season, Andalusians Juan Jose Lobato and Javi Moreno.

Daniel Moreno, Rubén Fernández, Rory Sutherland  and Imanol Erviti complete the group, conducted by José Luis Arrieta and José Luis Laguía on a five-day course (Wednesday 17th – Sunday 21st) that features a flat opener towards Sevilla, tricky finishes in Córdoba and Paul, a 21km individual time trial in Alhaurín de la Torre and a tough decider in the Alto de Peñas Blancas (Cat-1) after another Cat-2 climb in the province of Málaga.

Previous 10 winners in Vuelta a Andalucía:

2015 – Chris FROOME
2014 – Alejandro VALVERDE
2013 – Alejandro VALVERDE
2012 – Alejandro VALVERDE
2011 – Markel IRIZAR
2010 – Michael ROGERS
2009 – Joost POSTHUMA
2008 – Pablo LASTRAS
2007 – Oscar FREIRE
2006 – Carlos CARCIA QUESADA