Tinkoff wins the team time trial in Tour of Croatia

Despite a late crash involving Juraj Sagan, Tinkoff came out on top in the team time trial at the Tour of Croatia. Jesper Hansen led the Russian team over the line in a time of 49:36 with Gazprom-RusVelo finishing four seconds back. CCC Sprandi Polkowice rounded out the top three, a further six second down.

Synergy Baku did a great time to keep Matija Kvasina in the GC lead, 32 seconds clear of both Jesper Hansen (Tinkoff) and Victor de la Parte (CCC).

Tomorrow’s stage to Zagreb is by no means easy. The 158.5km stage features an uphill finish on a circuit in Zagreb. In the 2015 race, GC leader Paterski broke away with six other riders, winning the stage and putting 17 seconds into the peloton. There is room for change, but Hansen and De La Parte would need to get rid of Kvasina and also take ten bonus seconds to win the race overall.

Tour of Croatia 2016 – stage 5 results (Porec – Umag):

1 Tinkoff


2 Gazprom-RusVelo


3 CCC Sprandi Polkowice


4 Synergy Baku


5 One Pro Cycling


6 Verandas Willems


7 Cyclingteam Join’s De Rijke


8 Dimension Data


9 Adria Mobil


10 Verva ActiveJet



General classification after stage 5:

1 Matija Kvasina (Synergy Baku)


2 Jesper Hansen (Tinkoff)


3 Víctor De La Parte (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


4 Felix Grosschartner (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


5 Radoslav Rogina (Adria Mobil)


6 Domen Novak (Adria Mobil)


7 Riccardo Zoidl (Trek-Segafredo)


8 Kirill Pozdnyakov (Synergy Baku)


9 Markus Eibegger (Felbermayr – Simplon Wels)


10 Scott Davies (Team WIGGINS)