Team Sky wins the team time trial in Vuelta a Espana opening stage

Team Sky won Saturday’s first stage of the Vuelta a España, a 27.8-kilometer team time trial from Ourense to Castrelo de Miño.

The British squad narrowly defeated Movistar by less than a second. Orica – BikeExchange nabbed third in another close fight, with the Australian outfit clocking a time just one second faster than fourth-placed BMC Racing. Peter Kennaugh crossed the line first for Sky, putting him into the red leader’s jersey.

Sky were six seconds faster than Movistar at the final time check and so it was always going to be close. However, no one could have predicted the drama that saw Kennaugh lead Salvatore Puccio, Michal Kwiatkowski, Froome and Leopold König across the line in a time that was just 0.2 seconds faster than Movistar.

Tinkoff was the final team left on the course but it was evident that Contador was losing a lot of time. When Manuele Boaro led his teammates to the finish, the clock stopped in 31.29 for 8th place, meaning that Contador is already 52 seconds behind Froome and Quintana.

Vuelta a Espana 2016 – stage 1 results (Balneario Laias – Parque Náutico de Castrelo de Miño TTT):

1 Team Sky 00:30:37
2 Movistar


3 Orica-BikeExchange


4 BMC Racing Team


5 Etixx-QuickStep


6 LottoNL-Jumbo


7 Trek-Segafredo


8 Cannondale-Drapac


9 Tinkoff


10 Bora-Argon 18



General classification after stage 1:

1 Peter Kennaugh (Sky)


2 Salvatore Puccio (Sky)


3 Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky)


4 Leopold Konig (Sky)


5 Chris Froome (Sky)


6 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


7 Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)


8 Ruben Fernandez (Movistar)


9 Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)


10 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)