Sagan dominates the sprint in stage 2 of Tour de Suisse

Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) dominated the sprint in stage 2 at Tour de Suisse after some intense racing on the often rain-soaked rolling circuit in Baar. Sagan out-sprinted Maximiliano Richeze (Etixx – Quick-Step) and Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE).

After a bad prologue, Sagan had a second chance to add to his tally in today’s first road stage which was held on a hilly circuit around Baar. He didn’t disappoint as he rode to a very convincing sprint win when it all came down to the expected bunch kick.

In the final kilometer, Michael Albasini (Orica-GreenEDGE) rode so fast through a turn that a gap opened up behind the local hero, Magnus Cort, Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE), Sagan, Maximilano Richeze, Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal) and Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo). Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (Dimension Data) led the chase as Cancellara also moved to the front in a late attempt to save his yellow jersey.

Cort did a great lead-out for Matthews but the Australian hesitated too much. Sagan anticipated his rival and Richeze could do nothing more than stay on his wheel. Matthews crossed the line in third.

Roelandts finished fifth and as Danny Van Poppel (Sky) led the peloton across the line 3 seconds later, it was enough to take the leader’s jersey. The Belgian now has a one-second advantage over Cancellara while Luke Durbridge is six seconds behind in third.

Roelandts faces another similar stage tomorrow where a flat start lead to a tricky second half. Two climbs precedes a finishing circuit that will be covered twice and includes two short, steep climbs. The final challenge comes with 11.5km to go and then it’s a flat run to the finish.

Tour de Suisse 2016 – stage 2 results (Baar – Baar):

1 Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)


2 Maximiliano Richeze (Etixx – Quick-Step)


3 Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE)


4 Magnus Cort Nielsen (Orica-GreenEDGE)


5 Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal)


6 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


7 Danny Van Poppel (Sky)


8 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data)


9 Sven Erik Bystrøm (Katusha)


10 Tom Van Asbroeck (LottoNl-Jumbo)



General classification after stage 2:

1 Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal)


2 Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo)


3 Luke Durbridge (Orica-GreenEDGE)


4 Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)


5 Martin Elmiger (IAM)


6 Jon Izaguirre (Movistar)


7 Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


8 Johan Le Bon (FDJ)


9 Silvan Dillier (BMC)


10 Gorka Izaguirre (Movistar)


Recent Tweets