Santos Tour Down Under

Richie Porte has crossed the finish line at the Tour Down Under stage 6 criterium to secure the overall win for the first time in his career

After standing on the podium in 2015 and 2016 in second place, Porte stamped his authority on the 2017 edition with two impressive solo victories on the Paracombe and Willunga climbs, to win with the biggest winning margin in the race’s history. “It’s an incredible relief. I think back to nine years ago when this race really kicked off my career.”, said Richie Porte. “This is where I came a wild card. Then two years later I was in the WorldTour. So to win it is a massive relief. I’ve been close two times before so it just feels fantastic. Cycling is kicking massive goals in Australia with the crowds you’re seeing on the road. I must say I’m so happy with my team too. They rode incredibly today and the whole week so it’s just an overwhelming feeling of satisfaction to win this.”

Final general classification: 1 Richie Porte (BMC) 19:55:49

2 Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott) +48”

3 Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe) +51”

4 Nathan Haas (Dimension Data) ,,

5 Diego Ulissi (UAE Abu Dhabi) +59”

6 Rohan Dennis (BMC) +01’02”

7 Rafael Valls (Lotto Soudal) ,,

8 Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo) ,,

9 Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) ,,

10 Jhonatan Restrepo (Katusha-Alpecin) +01’04”

Official results people’s choise classic

1.Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA - SCOTT

2.Sam Bennett (IRL) - BORA - hansgrohe

3.Peter Sagan (SVK) - BORA - hansgrohe

4.Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA) - Bahrain - Merida

5.Edward Theuns (BEL) - Trek - Segafredo

6.Mark Renshaw (AUS) - Team Dimension Data

7.Sean De Bie (BEL) - Lotto Soudal

8.Baptiste Planckaert (BEL) - Team Katusha-Alpecin

9.Patrick Bevin (NZL) - Cannondale-Drapac Professional Cycling Team

10.Jasha Sutterlin (GER) - Movistar Team all at same time.