Pibernik denies the sprinters in Eneco Tour stage 6

Luka Pibernik (Lampre-Merida) delivered a massive surprise when he rode to victory on the tough stage 6 at the Eneco Tour.

Part of a 6-rider breakaway, he was one of five riders to narrowly keep the peloton at bay and with a perfectly timed sprint, he beat Mark McNally (Wanty) and Bert Van Lerberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen) in the final dash to the line. Rohan Dennis (BMC) finished safely and retained the lead on the eve of the queen stage.

Rohan Dennis finished safely in the bunch and so retained his 27-second advantage over his teammate Taylor Phinney. He still faces the hardest challenge, the final stage which is like a small version of the Tour of Flanders.

After a relatively flat start, the riders will do three laps of the well-known circuit that has been used several years in a row. It includes the famous hellingen of Bosberg, Onkerzelestraat, Denderoordberg and Muur van Geraardsbergen. The penultimate climb comes inside the final 10km while the finish comes halfway up the Muur, meaning that the stage is likely to come down to a huge battle between the classics specialist.

Eneco Tour 2016 – stage 6 results (Riemst – Lanaken):

1 Luka Pibernik (Lampre – Merida)


2 Mark Mcnally (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


3 Bert Van Lerberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise)


4 Alexis Gougeard (AG2R)


5 Chad Haga (Giant-Alpecin)


6 Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


7 Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis)


8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


9 Arnaud Demare (FDJ)


10 Jonas Van Genechten (IAM)



General classification after stage 6:

1 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2 Taylor Phinney (BMC)


3 Tony Martin (Etixx – Quick-Step)


4 Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)


5 Niki Terpstra (Etixx – Quick-Step)


6 Jos Van Emden (LottoNl-Jumbo)


7 Manuel Quinziato (BMC)


8 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


9 Bob Jungels (Etixx – Quick-Step)


10 Wilco Kelderman (LottoNl-Jumbo)


Recent Tweets