Peter Sagan defends world title after an incredible sprint

Peter Sagan (Slovakia) defended his world title in Doha, Qatar with an impressive sprint to hold off Mark Cavendish (Great Britain) and Tom Boonen (Belgium).

The split came with around 175 kilometres left, Belgium seemingly executing their game plan to perfection by getting six men into the first echelon, who slowly reeled in the early break ahead of them on the road.

Also present were defending champion Sagan, Mark Cavendish, Alexander Kristoff, Greg Van Avermaet, Elia Viviani and Michael Matthews.

The split eliminated several big sprinters including Marcel Kittel, Arnaud Demare, Nacer Bouhanni and Andre Greipel. From there the Belgians combined with Italy, Norway and a handful of the remaining sprinters with a 30-strong group holding their advantage all the way to the finish.

Cavendish was led into the finish by fellow Briton Adam Blythe and attacked the leading three riders around their left, but Sagan approached on the right at the same moment and stretched away to win by a bike’s length.

World Championships 2016 – Elite Men’s Road Race results:

1 Peter Sagan (Slovakia)


2 Mark Cavendish (Great Britain)


3 Tom Boonen (Belgium)


4 Michael Matthews (Australia)


5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Italy)


6 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)


7 Alexander Kristoff (Norway)


8 William Bonnet (France)


9 Niki Terpstra (Netherlands)


10 Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium)


Recent Tweets