Nizzolo nabs second win in Tour of Croatia

Giacomo Nizzolo sprinted to the win in stage three at the Tour of Croatia capitalizing on a Trek-Segafredo team effort to catch the breakaway with one kilometer to go and then set up Nizzolo with a textbook leadout in another twisty finish.

“It was really fast to get the breakaway back, and the guys did a perfect job in the leadout, so I had to win,” said Nizzolo. “All day we rode well, the circuit was hilly and before was tough too, harder than last two days. I am feeling good, and I was confident for the sprint, but at the end, I was scared because I could not shift into my biggest gear. My cadence was really high, but it worked out with the perfect lead out.”

The Tour of Croatia continues Friday with the queen stage where the general classification battle will finally begin. Nizzolo recaptured the leader’s jersey after his win today, but he has no misgivings about keeping the jersey in the summit finish tomorrow.

“No, no way,” Nizzolo laughed when asked about protecting the jersey in tomorrow’s mountain stage. “Sunday, maybe I can have another chance. We will have to see the finish first. But we came here to prepare the Giro and now I have two victories in the pocket. I was motivated already, but this gives me morale.”

Tour of Croatia 2016 – stage 3 results (Makarska – Sibenik):

1 Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


2 Timothy Dupont (Veranda’s Willems)


3 Matteo Pelucchi (IAM)


4 Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data)


5 Nicola Ruffoni (Bardiani CSF)


6 Roman Maikin (Gazprom-Rusvelo)


7 Coen Vermeltfoort (Join-S de Rijke)


8 Ioannis Tamouridis (Synergy Baku)


9 Paolo Simion (Bardiani CSF)


10 Marco Benfatto (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec)



General classification after stage 3:

1 Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


2 Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data)


3 Timothy Dupont (Veranda’s Willems)


4 Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data)


5 Matteo Pelucchi (IAM)


6 Nicola Ruffoni (Bardiani CSF)


7 Alexey Kurbatov (Gazprom-Rusvelo)


8 Ioannis Tamouridis (Synergy Baku)


9 Coen Vermeltfoort (Join-S de Rijke)


10 Roman Maikin (Gazprom-Rusvelo)


Recent Tweets