Nairo Quintana headlines the Movistar squad for the Tour de France

Nairo Quintana headlines the telephone squad’s nine-man roster for the 103rd edition of the Tour de France, which kicks off on Saturday, 2 July at Mont-Saint-Michel and finishes in Paris’ Champs-Élysées on Sunday 24.

The Movistar Team confirms Monday the nine-man selection made by Eusebio Unzué for the Blues’ 34th consecutive appearance in the Tour de France. The lineup, led by Colombia’s Nairo Quintana, twice runner-up in the French stage race (2013, 2015), also includes Spain’s Alejandro Valverde, third-placed finisher in the last edition of the ‘Grande Boucle’. The roster is completed by Portugal’s Nelson Oliveira, Colombian Winner Anacona and Spaniards Imanol Erviti, Gorka Izagirre, Dani Moreno, Jesús Herrada and Ion Izagirre.

The Tour de France, which the Movistar Team’s expedition led by José Luis Arrieta and Chente García Acosta will head towards on Wednesday, will be the search for the#SueñoAmarillo (‘Yellow Dream’) for a group which comes into the biggest stage race in the world with arguably the best numbers in its history: 30 victories -a milestone never achieved before the Tour in almost four decades of existence-, 71 podium finishes and overall success in races like Romandie, Catalunya, Route du Sud or Valverde’s GC podium in the Giro d’Italia, combined with four national titles last weekend which underline the Movistar Team’s excellent form leading up into the French event.