Naesen denies the sprinters in Bretagne Classic

Oliver Naesen (IAM) delivered one of the biggest surprises of the 2016 season when he rode to victory in a star-studded 80th edition of the Bretagne Classic, formerly known as GP Plouay.

Having attacked with 33km to go, he joined forces with Alberto Bettiol (Cannondale-Drapac) and Guillaume Martin (Wanty) and after having dropped the latter, he beat the Italian in a two-rider sprint. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) won the sprint for third and so missed out on a repeat win in the French race.

Bretagne Classic 2016 results:

1 Oliver Naesen (IAM)


2 Alberto Bettiol (Cannondale-Drapac)


3 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha)


4 Michael Matthews (Orica-BikeExchange)


5 John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin)


6 Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


7 Daniel Hoelgaard (FDJ)


8 Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo)


9 Matteo Trentin (Etixx – Quick-Step)


10 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)