Moscon claims first professional win in Tour of Norway stage 3

Gianni Moscon (Sky) powered to his first professional victory with a stunning solo attack on stage three of the Arctic Tour of Norway.

The Italian hit the gas with a kilometre to go on the tough Korgfjellet climb and powered to an 11-second win, moving into the race lead by 15 seconds with just one day to go in Norway. Teammate Sebastian Henao had covered what looked to be the decisive move on the final climb and Moscon was able to bridge across from what was left of the peloton before flying clear to take a memorable solo win.

“It feels amazing”, a clearly delighted Moscon tried to put his emotions into words after the stage.M”It’s beautiful. It’s an amazing feeling. I have no words to explain how I’m feeling! It’s just fantastic.

“I knew I was coming to this race in very good shape. I did a lot of training before I came here and today was a good stage for me. I tried and I’m very happy. We did the same climb yesterday in the race and I saw the point when I thought I’d attack. There was three people in Sebastian’s group and I thought it would be good to get across. I felt good, got across, then I tried again and just went to the finish. The last kilometre was really long, but when you know that you are going to win, you can give something more.”

“Tomorrow should be a sprint stage but you never know. I will be very attentive to everything and of course I want to keep the lead!”

Tour of Norway 2016 – stage 3 results (Nesna – Korgfjellet):

  • Gianni Moscon (Sky) 4:00:09
    2. Stef Clement (IAM) +11″
    3. Oscar Gatto (Tinkoff) +24″
    4. Martin Elmiger (IAM) ,,
    5. Odd Christian Eiking (FDJ) ,,
    6. Sebastian Henao (Sky) +28″
    7. Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) +31″
    8. Bjørn Tore Nilsen Hoem (Joker) ,,
    9. Carl Fredrik Hagen (Sparebanken Sor) ,,
    10. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) ,,
  • General classification after stage 3:

    1. Gianni Moscon (Sky) 12:56:17
    2. Stef Clement (IAM) +15″
    3. Oscar Gatto (Tinkoff) +30″
    4. Martin Elmiger (IAM) +34″
    5. Odd Christian Eiking (FDJ) ,,
    6. Sebastian Henao (Sky) +36″
    7. Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise) +41″
    8. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) ,,
    9. Reto Hollenstein (IAM) ,,
    10. Amaël Moinard (BMC) ,,