Matthews beats Sagan after long breakaway in Tour de France stage 10

Michael Matthews (Orica-BikeExchange) won the 10th stage of the Tour de France in a sprint finish after a long breakaway on Tuesday. The Australian rider edged world champion Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) and Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) to claim his first stage win at cycling’s biggest race.

The stage started with the big climb of Port d’Envalira and as the best climbers kept attacking, Orica-BikeExchange couldn’t control things. Hence, they went on the attack and when an incredibly strong 15-rider break had formed, they had no less than three riders there.

However, the opposition was formidable. Matthews, Daryl Impey and Luke Durbridge were up against Peter Sagan, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Steve Cummings (Dimension Data), Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Greg Van Avermaet, Damiano Caruso (BMC), Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida), Samuel Dumoulin (Ag2r), Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie), Gorka Izagirre (Movistar) and Mikel Landa (Sky) but they were very attentive. When Sagan split the group, the trio all made it into the seven-rider group that decided the race.

In the end, Durbridge worked hard to help the group stay away and then Impey kept attacking. Sagan had to close all the gaps on his own and so was tired for the sprint. In the end, Impey rode hard to prevent any further attacks and finally Matthews came out on top in the sprint.

Chris Froome finished safely and so retained his 16-second advantage over Adam Yates (Orica-BikeExchange). He faces a nervous day on tomorrow’s stage 11 where the riders will tackle one of the flattest courses of the race. There are only two early category 4 climbs on the menu but the Mistral win is forecasted to be strong in the area which has often been the scene of some dramatic racing. However, the sprinters are hoping to grab one of their final opportunities in the race.

Tour de France 2016 – stage 10 results (Escaldes-Engordany – Revel):

1 Michael Matthews (Orica-BikeExchange)


2 Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)


3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


4 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


5 Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R)


6 Daryl Impey (Orica-BikeExchange)


7 Luke Durbridge (Orica-BikeExchange)


8 Damiano Caruso (BMC)


9 Gorka Izagirre (Movistar)


10 Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)


11 Rui Costa (Lampre – Merida)


12 Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


13 Mikel Landa Meana (Sky)


14 Vincenzo Nibali (Astana)


15 Stephen Cummings (Dimension Data)


16 Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)


17 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo)


18 Michael Valgren (Tinkoff)


19 Tony Martin (Etixx – Quick-Step)


20 Luke Rowe (Sky)



General classification after stage 10:

1 Christopher Froome (Sky)


2 Adam Yates (Orica-BikeExchange)


3 Daniel Martin (Etixx – Quick-Step)


4 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


5 Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha)


6 Romain Bardet (AG2R)


7 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)


8 Sergio Henao (Sky)


9 Louis Meintjes (Lampre – Merida)


10 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


11 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)


12 Roman Kreuziger (Tinkoff)


13 Fabio Aru (Astana)


14 Richie Porte (BMC)


15 Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin)


16 Geraint Thomas (Sky)


17 Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac)


18 Sébastien Reichenbach (FDJ)


19 Wilco Kelderman (LottoNl-Jumbo)


20 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Katusha)


Recent Tweets