Lampre-Merida announce Tour de France line-up

Lampre-Merida’s technical staff, after having consulted the team’s management, selected the nine riders of the line-up for the Tour de France, which will take place from July 2nd to July 24th.

Sports directors Philippe Mauduit and Mario Scirea, who’ll be supported by Daniele Righi, will counts on:
Arashiro Yukiya: 31 years old, Japanese, 5 caps in the Tour
Bono Matteo, 32 years old, Italian, 4 caps in the Tour
Cimolai Davide: 26 years old, Italian, 3 caps in the Tour
Costa Rui: 29 years old, Portuguese, 7 caps in the Tour and 3 stage victories
Durasek Kristijan: 28 years old, Croatian, 2 caps in the Tour
Grmay Tsgabu Gebremaryam: 24 years old, Ethiopian, rookie
Meintjes Louis: 24 years old, South African, 1 caps in the Tour
Pibernik Luka: 22 years old, Slovenian, rookie
Polanc Jan: 24 years old, Slovenian, rookie
Substitutes: Mattia Cattaneo and Mario Costa.

Seven nations and three continents will be represented in the selection of LAMPRE-MERIDA: Croatia, Ethiopia, Japan, Italy, Portugal, Slovenia and South Africa; Africa, Asia and Europe. The average age of the selection is 26,6 years old.

Three riders will debut in the Grand Boucle: the two Slovenian young guns Pibernik and Polanc and the Ethiopian Grmay, whose participation will be historic because he’ll be the first cyclist from Ethiopia to participate in the Tour de France.

Arashiro has already marked two records in 2009, when he was the first Japanese cyclist ever to enter in a top 5 of a stage in the Tour de France and to complete the Grande Boucle.