Kristoff wins again in Qatar, Boasson Hagen loses the race lead

Alexander Kristoff won stage 4 of the Tour of Qatar, after beating Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) to the line, with his teammate Jacopo Guarnieri taking third place. Sam Bennett (Bora Argon 18) finished fourth and Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) was fifth as the peloton split under the huge effort of the Katusha team into a crosswind in the final kilometre.

With a solid lead in the GC, Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data) punctured in the final 10 kilometres of the stage and, after changing the wheel and then the bike, lost contact with the front group. He chased hard with several teammates but became stuck in the big chase group as the LottoNL-Jumbo, BMC and then Katusha teams gave it everything at the head of the front group of 25 riders.

Boasson Hagen lost 45 seconds and his yellow jersey. Cavendish took the gold jersey but Van Avermaet is now only two seconds back, with Kristoff fourth overall at just 9 seconds. Boasson Hagen slipped to fifth at 19 seconds.

Tour of Qatar 2016 – stage 4 results (Al Zubarah Fort – Madinat Al Shamal):

1 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha)


2 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


3 Jacopo Guarnieri (Katusha)


4 Sam Bennett (Bora-Argon 18)


5 Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data)


6 Manuel Quinziato (BMC)


7 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Katusha)


8 Søren Kragh Andersen (Giant-Alpecin)


9 Moreno Hofland (LottoNl-Jumbo)


10 Michael Morkov (Katusha)



General classification after stage 4:

1 Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data)


2 Greg Van Avermaet (BMC)


3 Manuel Quinziato (BMC)


4 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha)


5 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data)


6 Søren Kragh Andersen (Giant-Alpecin)


7 Sam Bennett (Bora-Argon 18)


8 Sven Erik Bystrøm (Katusha)


9 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Katusha)


10 Michael Schär (BMC)