Kristin Armstrong wins gold in women’s time trial at the Olympic Games

Kristin Armstrong has won a third time trial gold medal in Rio. The American – champion in Beijing 2008 and London 2012 – managed to overhaul second-placed Russian Olga Zabelinskaya to win a third straight gold remarkably a day before she turns 43.

She completed the course in a time of 44:26.42 before dropping to her knee amid tears of joy at producing such an astonishing ride.

The world time trail champion Linda Villumsen of New Zealand finished 22 seconds slower than Zabelinskaya, who thought she had the gold under lock and key until Armstrong produced a remarkable final surge to complete the victory amid conditions that witnessed several rider almost crash in the gloom of some saturated roads.


1 Kristin Armstrong (United States)


2 Olga Zabelinskaya (Russia)


3 Anna van der Breggen (Netherlands)


4 Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands)


5 Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy)


6 Linda Villumsen (New Zealand)


7 Tara Whitten (Canada)


8 Lisa Brenauer (Germany)


9 Katrin Garfoot (Australia)


10 Evelyn Stevens (United States)


11 Alena Amialiusik (Belarus)


12 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (South Africa)


13 Karol-Ann Canuel (Canada)


14 Emma Pooley (Great Britain)


15 Eri Yonamine (Japan)


16 Trixi Worrack (Germany)


17 Lotta Lepisto (Finland)


18 Kasia Niewiadoma (Poland)


19 Anna Plichta (Poland)


20 Hanna Solovey (Ukraine)