Jose Joaquin Rojas is the new Spanish national road race champion

Five years after taking his first title, Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) conquered his second Spanish Road Race Championships by riding to a rare solo win in Cocenteina. 

The 2016 edition of the Spanish Championships were held on a 32.4km circuit around the city of Cocenteina. The loop included a tough climb right from the start and then several smaller ascents in the first half. The second part was mainly descending but had a small climb just 3.7km from the finish. From there, it was a gradual rise all the way to the line. The circuit was covered six times for an overall distance of 194.4km.

Having bridged across to a two-rider break, Jose Joaquin Rojas dropped his companions with a attack in the last 8 kilometers  and held off Angel Vicioso (Katusha) and Jordi Simon (Verva) to take home the coveted champion’s jersey.

National Championships Spain 2016 – Road Race results:


Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar)

2 Angel Vicioso (Katusha)


3 Jordi Simon (Verva ActiveJet)


4 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


5 Jesus Herrada (Movistar)


6 Vicente García de Mateos (Louletano-Hospital de Loule)


7 Carlos Barbero (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


8 Francisco Ventoso (Movistar)


9 Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana)


10 Angel Madrazo (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)