José Gonçalves wins Tour of Turkey overall

Jakub Mareczko of Southeast outsprinted Lampre-Merida’s Sacha Modolo on the final day of the 52nd Presidential Tour of Turkey to equal his compatriot’s haul of stage victories in the pre-Giro d’Italia event.

Portugal’s José Gonçalves of Caja Rural-RGA comfortably retained the overall lead to claim his first international stage race at the age of 27. David Arroyo accompanied his teammate on the final podium in second place, while Nikita Stalnov (Astana City) finished third overall.

José Gonçalves: “I’m very happy. I didn’t come here with the objective of winning, but I knew I’d be OK. Day by day the situation evolved. My success came as a surprise to me because of the hard, windy 2nd and 3rd stages. Without those two stages, I don’t know how it would have been, because in the mountains we have good riders. Tonight we’ll celebrate together as a team, with champagne in the hotel. From now on, I’ll try and get the responsibility as team leader. I tried at Tirreno – Adriatico, but things didn’t turn out as I wanted. I wasn’t at 100%. But in the coming races, I’ll try to be good”.

Tour of Turkey 2016 – stage 8 results (Marmaris – Selcuk):

1 Jakub Mareczko (Southeast – Venezuela)


2 Sacha Modolo (Lampre – Merida)


3 Francisco Chamorro (Funvic Soul Cycles – Carrefour)


4 Kris Boeckmans (Lotto Soudal)


5 Ahmet Orken (Torku Sekerspor)


6 Daniele Colli (Nippo – Vini Fantini)


7 Manuel Belletti (Southeast – Venezuela)


8 Grzegorz Stepniak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


9 Marco Zanotti (Parkhotel Valkenburg)


10 Eduard Michael Grosu (Nippo – Vini Fantini)



Final general classification:

1 José Gonçalves (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


2 David Arroyo (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


3 Nikita Stalnov (Astana City)


4 Lluis Mas (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)


5 Adam Hansen (Lotto Soudal)


6 Gregory Henderson (Lotto Soudal)


7 Stig Broeckx (Lotto Soudal)


8 Gert Dockx (Lotto Soudal)


9 Jaime Roson (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)


10 Mauro Finetto (Unieuro Wilier)