Izagirre crushes the opposition in Tour de Suisse time trial

Ion Izagirre (Movistar) crushed the opposition in stage 8 time trial at Tour de Suisse. The Spanish rider was 18 seconds faster than Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana), with pre-race favourite Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo) one second further adrift in third. Lopez did the TT of his life to take the yellow jersey with an 8-second advantage over Andrew Talansky (Cannondale).

Talansky confirmed his good form with a fifth place that saw him move into the virtual lead with an 8-second advantage over Izagirre and with only tiny climbers Miguel Angel Lopez and Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin) still on the course, he probably believed that the yellow jersey was his. However, Lopez did the time trial of his life and delivered a major shock when he reached the finish in 21.49 to go one second faster than Cancellara, take second place on the stage and move into the lead with an 8-second advantage over Talansky.

In general, it was a day of surprises for the climbers as Jarlinson Pantano (IAM) finished 7th to defend his top 5 overall. However, there was no glory for Barguil who slipped to fourth in the overall standings as he could only manage 21st.

The stage was another disappointment for Geraint Thomas (Sky) and Tejay van Garderen (BMC) who was unable to back up yesterday’s great performance with a good TT. Thomas and van Garderen had to settle for 9th and 10th respectively and they are both outside the top 5 on GC.

Lopez now leads Talansky by 8 seconds with Izagirre in third at 16 seconds. With small time gaps, the scene is set for an excellent final stage. On the last day, the riders face a short, intense mountain stage that will see them go up the mighty HC climbs of Albulapass and Flüelapass. The summit of the final climb comes just 17.5km from the finish and from there it is downhill almost all the way to the line.

Tour de Suisse 2016 – stage 8 results (ITT Davos):

1 Ion Izagirre (Movistar)


2 Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


3 Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Wilco Kelderman (LottoNL-Jumbo)


5 Andrew Talansky (Cannondale)


6 Jonathan Castroviejo (Movistar)


7 Jarlinson Pantano (IAM)


8 Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE)


9 Geraint Thomas (Sky)


10 Tejay van Garderen (BMC)



General classification after stage 8:

1 Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)


2 Andrew Talansky (Cannondale)


3 Ion Izagirre (Movistar)


4 Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin)


5 Jarlinson Pantano (IAM)


6 Wilco Kelderman (LottoNL-Jumbo)


7 Tejay van Garderen (BMC)


8 Geraint Thomas (Sky)


9 Simon Spilak (Katusha)


10 Rui Faria Da Costa (Lampre-Merida)