Guardini brings another win for Astana in Tour de Langkawi opener

Tour de Langkawi 2016 kicked off with a 166.6km stage from Kangar to Baling. It was a mostly flat affair but included two category 4 climbs at the midpoint. The main challenge was a category 3 climb which summited 24.2km from the finish from where it was a downhill run to a completely flat finish. A long, straight road lead to a final turn just 200m from the line.

Astana’s Andrea Guardini has won his 19th stage of Le Tour de Langkawi, ahead of Brenton Jones (Drapac) and Andrea Palini (Skydive Dubai). The win is Guardini’s first of the season and continues his run of winning at least one stage at the race since 2011.

Tour de Langkawi 2016 – stage 1 results (Kangar – Baling):

1 Andrea Guardini (Astana)


2 Brenton Jones (Drapac)  
3 Andrea Palini (SkyDive Dubai)  
4 John Murphy (UnitedHealthcare)  
5 Dylan Page (Roth)  
6 Michael Kolar (Tinkoff)  
7 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Dimension Data)  
8 Shinpei Fukada (Aisan Racing Team)  
9 Marco Benfatto (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec)  
10 Mohd Harrif Saleh (Terengganu Cycling Team)