Gaviria wins the sprint in the second stage of Tour de San Luis

Fernando Gaviria received a winning lead-out from his Etixx-QuickStep teammate Max Richeze, who was wearing the yellow leader’s jersey, to win stage 2 of the Tour de San Luis. Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) was second with Elia Viviani (Italy) in third.

Gaviria earned a 10-second time bonus and moved into the overall lead ahead of his teammates Richeze and Lukasz Wisniowski. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) is sitting in sixth overall at 18 seconds back and World champion Sagan is ninth at 27 seconds back.

A breakaway rode off the front of the field for much of the stage that included Juan Curuchet (Argentina), Ariel Sivori (Los Matanceros), Emiliano Ibarra (S.E.P. San Juan), Israel Nuño (Inteja – MMR), Genki Yamamoto (Nippo Vini Fantini) and Caio Godoy (Brazil).

The five riders had a five-minute gap with 20km to go but the group attacked one another, which led to Sivori, Godoy and Yamamoto pushing ahead on their own.

Their advantage was cut in half with 10km to go, and they weren’t strong enough to fight off the chase from Etixx-QuickStep and they were absorbed back into the bunch with 500 metres to go

Tour de San Luis – stage 2 results:

1 Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-QuickStep) 4:23:54
2 Peter Sagan (Tinkoff)
3 Elia Viviani (Italy National Team)
4 Eduard Michael Grosu (Nippo-Vini Fantini)
5 Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Jamis)
6 Max Richeze (Etixx-QuickStep)
7 Francesco Chicchi (Androni-Sidermec)
8 Jason Lowndes (Drapac)
9 Jakub Mareczko (Italy National Team)
10 Marco Canola (UnitedHealthcare)