Ewan hits again in Moe

Caleb Ewan is still yet to lose a sprint finish he has contested in 2016 following the Orica-GreenEdge rider’s Jayco Herald Sun Tour  stage 2 victory over Tanner Putt (UnitedHealthcare) in Moe. Ewan won two stages of the Tour Down Under last month having also won the pre-race Down Under Classic criterium, the national criterium title and three stages of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic.

With the race splitting to pieces on the Moe circuit, a six-man group of Ewan, Putt, Jack Haig (Orica-GreenEdge), Jack Bobridge (Trek-Segafredo), Chris Froome and Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky) formed inside the final five kilometres of the stage. With Ewan, the obvious winner should it finish in a sprint, Bobridge and Kennaugh both launched attacks but the sextet would arrive at the flamme rouge altogether. From there, it was only a matter of how many bike lengths Ewan would be celebrating by.

“It’s not the biggest win I’ve had this season, but I think the way I won it gives me a whole lot of confidence and that makes it really, really special for me,” Ewan told reporters.

Jayco Herald Sun Tour 2016 – stage 2 results (Yarra Glen – Moe):

1 Caleb Ewan (Orica GreenEDGE) 3:29:06
2 Tanner Putt (UnitedHealthcare)


3 Peter Kennaugh (Sky)


4 Chris Froome (Sky)


5 Jack Bobridge (Trek-Segafredo)


6 Jack Haig (Orica GreenEDGE)


7 Niccolo Bonifazio (Trek-Segafredo)


8 John Murphy (UnitedHealthcare)


9 Patrick Shaw (Avanti IsoWhey)


10 Fumiyuki Beppu (Trek-Segafredo)



General classification after stage 2:

1 Peter Kennaugh (Sky) 6:33:21
2 Chris Froome (Sky)


3 Jack Bobridge (Trek-Segafredo)


4 Jack Haig (Orica GreenEDGE)


5 Dion Smith (ONE)


6 Damien Howson (Orica GreenEDGE)


7 Anthony Giacopo (Avanti IsoWhey)


8 Robbie Hucker (Avanti IsoWhey)


9 Patrick Shaw (Avanti IsoWhey)


10 Joseph Cooper (Avanti IsoWhey)