Enrico Gasparotto wins his second Amstel Gold Race

The 34 year-old from Wanty-Groupe Gobert sprinted to win the 2016 Amstel Gold Race ahead of Tinkoff-Saxo rider Michael Valgren. After Tim Weelens was caught on the last ascent on the Cauberg, Gasparotto and Valgren accelerated on the flat section at the end. The peloton could not organize a chase and in the end the race was decided between the two as Gasparotto out-sprinted Valgren to mark an emotional win for Wanty.

Top 10:

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Wanty – Groupe Gobert 6:18:02
2 Michael Valgren (Den) Tinkoff  “
3 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani – CSF 0:00:03
4 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Direct Energie  “
5 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE  “
6 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx – Quick Step  “
7 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre – Merida  “
8 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team  “
9 Loïc Vliegen (Bel) BMC Racing Team  “
10 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal  “