Dylan Groenewegen crowned Dutch Champion

Dylan Groenewegen won the Dutch championship in Ouddorp today. Team LottoNL-Jumbo’s sprinter finished off the strong lead-out Timo Roosen gave him on the Brouwersdam to beat Wouter Wippert (Cannondale) and Wim Stroetinga (Parkhotel Valkenburg).

Team LottoNL-Jumbo went completely for the chances of its sprinter Groenewegen during the Dutch championship. Groenewegen already won six races before the championship and was protected by his team-mates in every breakaway and in the peloton.

“It was quite chaotic for a long time,” Groenewegen said. “Everyone wanted to be part of the breakaway and there was always one of us among the leaders. The whole team did its best to bring a sprint. We succeeded and Timo Roosen delivered a perfect lead-out. Stroetinga went for his chances early, but I immediately felt that I had more power.”

Groenewegen passed Stroetinga and didn’t let Wippert come closer, so he was able to put on the red, white and blue jersey afterwards.

“That’s amazing,” the new Dutch champion said. “This is the first time that I am the Dutch champion. The last time that the team grabbed the title was quite long ago and I was the main favourite as well, so I felt some pressure. I was very confident, on the other hand. We finished it off as a team.”

Jan Boven added that the most important thing succeeded. “We wanted to have the new Dutch champion,” the sports director said. “When you create a profile like today’s in Goeree-Overflakkee, you get an exciting championship. The big part of today’s race wasn’t too nervous, but the local laps were. We had to be very focussed in those kilometres. Mike Teunissen, Moreno Hofland and Bert-Jan Lindeman paid attention to that job.”

“It was a big fight from start to finish. The average speed of the race was 48 kilometres an hour and that says a lot about the way they were riding.” A leading group with Bram Tankink, Boy van Poppel (Trek), Mathieu van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) and Huub Duijn (Roompot) grabbed a 20-second lead. “That wasn’t a good situation. We had to work hard in the chase, but if those riders wouldn’t have escaped, others would have. It was at least a good thing that Tankink was among them. We made sure that the four riders who had their jobs during the the preparation of the sprint started that part of the race fresh. With 1.5 kilometre to go, we took control of the race and held it until the end.”

National Championships Netherlands 2016 – Road Race results:

1 Dylan Groenewegen (Etixx – Quick-Step)


2 Wouter Wippert (Cannondale)


3 Wim Stroetinga (Parkhotel Valkenburg)


4 Danny van Poppel (Sky)


5 Barry Markus (Roompot-Oranje Peloton)


6 Raymond Kreder (Roompot-Oranje Peloton)


7 Jeroen Meijers (Rabobank Development Team)


8 Ramon Sinkeldam (Giant-Alpecin)


9 Jetse Bol (Cyclingteam Join’s-De Rijke)


10 Johim Ariesen (Metec-TKH)


Recent Tweets