Drucker sprints to victory on stage 16 of the Vuelta

Jempy Drucker (BMC) claimed his first Grand Tour stage victory after winning the sprint finish on stage 16 of the Vuelta a Espana. Drucker outsprinted Bora Argon’s Rudiger Selig and Giant-Alpecin’s Nikias Arndt in Peñíscola.

With around 60km of downhill or flat roads running to the finish line, stage 16 was an obvious target for the quick men, which meant that early breakers Davide Villella (Cannondale – Drapac), Mario Costa (Lampre – Merida), Silvan Dillier (BMC Racing), Sven Erik Bystrom (Katusha), Luis Angel Mate (Cofidis), and Julien Morice (Direct Energie) were kept on a tight leash. Their advantage never got much higher than three minutes. A well-marshaled peloton ultimately made the catch with 13km to go.

Tinkoff’s Daniele Bennati tried to catch the sprinters napping with a solo dig off the front in the final few kilometers, but he was reeled in when the sprinters wound up the speed 200 meters from the finish.

Etixx – Quick-Step’s Gianni Meersman, already a winner of two stages in this year’s race, was the first to launch his move, but Drucker overtook him 100 meters from the line and powered on to a convincing victory. Rüdiger Selig (Bora – Argon 18) took second, with Nikias Arndt (Giant – Alpecin) in third.

Movistar’s Nairo Quintana finished safely in the peloton to maintain his grip on the race lead heading into the second rest day.

Vuelta a Espana 2016 – stage 16 results (Alcañiz – Peñíscola):

1 Jean-Pierre Drucker (BMC)


2 Rudiger Selig (Bora-Argon 18)


3 Nikias Arndt (Giant-Alpecin)


4 Gianni Meersman (Etixx – Quick-Step)


5 Lorenzo Manzin (FDJ)


6 Jonas Van Genechten (IAM)


7 Kristian Sbaragli (Dimension Data)


8 Kiel Reijnen (Trek-Segafredo)


9 Tosh Van Der Sande (Lotto Soudal)


10 Jhonatan Restrepo (Katusha)



General classification after stage 16:

1 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2 Christopher Froome (Sky)


3 Esteban Chaves (Orica-BikeExchange)


4 Alberto Contador (Tinkoff)


5 Simon Yates (Orica-BikeExchange)


6 Samuel Sanchez (BMC)


7 Andrew Talansky (Cannondale-Drapac)


8 Davide Formolo (Cannondale-Drapac)


9 David De La Cruz (Etixx – Quick-Step)


10 Michele Scarponi (Astana)