Dennis wins Folsom time trial in California

Rohan Dennis (BMC) took the victory in the individual time trial at the Amgen Tour of California, winning by 17 seconds over US time trial champion Andrew Talansky (Cannondale).

After his winning performance, the Australian national time trial champion now moves into second on the General Classification, 16 seconds behind Etixx-Quick-Step’s Julian Alaphilippe, who was able to hold to his race lead over the 20.3km course around Folsom.

There was further podium success for BMC as Taylor Phinney, the early leader of the stage, finished third, 20 seconds behind teammate Dennis.

“I was fairly confident as I crossed the line that I had set the quickest time for the rest of the race. I was in a fair bit of pain, the main thing I remember was that I had that taste of metallic in my mouth for the last four or five kilometers from the lactate so it was could to get a drink and wash that out.”, said Dennis at the finish.

“The wind was definitely getting stronger and stronger throughout the day which actually played into our favour a little bit with Alaphilippe because he is a smaller rider and would have been blown around a little bit more but in the end it didn’t make too much of a difference with the stage win, that was my goal for the day as well as trying to take time out. So, it was still a good day, even if we didn’t get the yellow jersey.”

Tour of California 2016 – stage 6 results (Folsom ITT):

1 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


2 Andrew Talansky (Cannondale)


3 Taylor Phinney (BMC)


4 Søren Kragh Andersen (Giant-Alpecin)


5 Brent Bookwalter (BMC)


6 Vasil Kiryienka (Sky)


7 Lawson Craddock (Cannondale)


8 Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx – Quick-Step)


9 Jurgen Van den Broeck (Katusha)


10 Neilson Powless (Axeon Hagens Berman)



General classification after stage 6:

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx – Quick-Step)


2 Rohan Dennis (BMC)


3 Brent Bookwalter (BMC)


4 Andrew Talansky (Cannondale)


5 Neilson Powless (Axeon Hagens Berman)


6 Lawson Craddock (Cannondale)


7 Samuel Sanchez (BMC)


8 Laurens ten Dam (Giant-Alpecin)


9 George Bennett (LottoNl-Jumbo)


10 Jurgen Van den Broeck (Katusha)