Chris Froome claims stage 11 at the Vuelta a Espana

Chris Froome (Sky) pipped rival Nairo Quintana (Movistar) to win stage 11 at Peña Cabarga to steal back some precious seconds on the Colombian in the battle for the Vuelta’s red jersey.

Five years after Team Sky’s Froome underlined his credentials as a top GC rider by beating eventual champion Juan Jose Cobo on the sharp climb to Peña Cabarga, the British rider – who has since won three Tours de France – struck again.

The two stand-out riders of the 71st edition of the Vuelta exchanged blows on the 5.6km climb before Froome accelerated around the final bend to take the spoils and snatch four bonus seconds over Quintana, who settled for second place in the 168.6km stage from Colunga in northern Spain.

Following the second Vuelta stage scalp of his career, Froome leapfrogs Quintana’s Movistar team-mate Alejandro Valverde – who finished six seconds back in third place – in the overall standings.

A great day for Team Sky also saw Leopold Konig of the Czech Republic take fourth place ahead of Spaniard Alberto Contador (Tinkoff) – both riders finishing in the same time as Valverde.

Froome now trails Quintana by 54 seconds on GC with Valverde dropping to third at 1:05.

Vuelta a Espana 2016 – stage 11 results (Colunga – Pena Cabarga):

1 Christopher Froome (Sky)


2 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


3 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


4 Leopold Konig (Sky)


5 Alberto Contador (Tinkoff)


6 Simon Yates (Orica-BikeExchange)


7 Michele Scarponi (Astana)


8 Esteban Chaves (Orica-BikeExchange)


9 Pierre-Roger Latour (AG2R)


10 Samuel Sanchez (BMC)



General classification after stage 11:

1 Nairo Quintana (Movistar)


2 Christopher Froome (Sky)


3 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)


4 Esteban Chaves (Orica-BikeExchange)


5 Alberto Contador (Tinkoff)


6 Leopold Konig (Sky)


7 Simon Yates (Orica-BikeExchange)


8 Michele Scarponi (Astana)


9 David De La Cruz (Etixx – Quick-Step)


10 Samuel Sanchez (BMC)