Cavendish wins Abu Dhabi Tour final stage as Tanel Kangert takes overall title

Mark Cavendish ended his road season with a win on the final stage of the Abu Dhabi Tour as Estonia’s Tanel Kangert sealed overall victory.

Cavendish (Dimension Data) claimed his 10th win of the year by out-sprinting second-placed Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) and third-placed Elia Viviani (Team Sky) at the Yas Marina F1 circuit.

Cavendish was given a textbook lead-out by his team-mates and although Nizzolo was sitting in his slipstream, the Italian was unable to come past and eventually lost by a bike’s length.

Kangert (Astana) followed safely in the peloton to complete a 21-second triumph over runner-up Nicolas Roche (Team Sky) in the general classification, while Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) finished 43 seconds down in third.

General classification

1 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana, 12:27:34

2 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky, +21sec

3 Diego Ulissi (Ita) lampre-Merida, +43

4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, +1:00

5 Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff, +same time

6 Julien Bernard (Fra) Trek-Segafredo, +1:02

7 Ben Hermans (Bel) BMC Racing, +1:29

8 Martijn Tusveld (Ned) Giant-Alpecin, +1:38

9 Winner Anacona (Col) Movistar, st

10 Jesper Hansen (Den) Tinkoff, st