Castroviejo takes first European time trial title

Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain) finally got what seems to be a long overdue medal at an international time trial championships when he took a dominant win in the inaugural European Time Trial Championships.

The Spaniard covered the hilly 45.5km course in Plumelec in 58.13 to go 30 seconds faster than Victor Campenaerts (Belgium) who held off a strong comeback from Moreno Moser (Italy) to take the silver medal, with the Italian completing the podium.

Castroviejo lived up to his status as the overwhelming favourite by claiming a clear win in the first edition of the event. Being the penultimate rider to leave the ramp, he was a slow starter and at the first time check he was only fourth, six seconds behind Marcin Bialoblocki (Pole). However, while most others started to fade, Castroviejo increased the speed and when he passed the second and final time check he was a massive 25 seconds faster than trade teammate Nelson Oliveira who was the second fastest at that point.

The Spaniard didn’t slow down in the hard finale that included the difficult climb of the Cote de Cadoudal and he reached the finish in 58.13 to knock then-leader Moreno Moser out of the hot seat by 39 seconds. He just had to wait for Victor Campenaerts to reach the finish but as he had been 28 seconds faster at the final time check, the outcome was never in doubt. Castroviejo could finally raise his arms in celebration to celebrate a win at a major international championship.

European Championships 2016 – time trial results:

1 Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain)


2 Victor Campenaerts (Belgium)


3 Moreno Moser (Italy)


4 Nelson Oliveira (Portugal)


5 Anthony Roux (France)


6 Yves Lampaert (Belgium)


7 Primoz Roglic (Slovenia)


8 Nicolas Roche (Ireland)


9 Marcin Bialoblocki (Poland)


10 Anton Vorobyev (Russia)


11 Nils Politt (Germany)


12 Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Spain)


13 Sylvain Chavanel (France)


14 Branislau Samoilau (Belarus)


15 Andriy Grivko (Ukraine)


16 Stefan Küng (Switzerland)


17 Rein Taaramae (Estonia)


18 Steven Lammertink (Netherlands)


19 Jasha Sütterlin (Germany)


20 Gatis Smukulis (Latvia)


Recent Tweets