Boonen and Van Avermaet headline Belgium team for World Championships

Tom Boonen (Etixx-QuickStep) and Olympic gold medalist Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) will lead the Belgian men’s team at the upcoming road world championships, while Jolien D’Hoore will be the protected rider for the women’s squad.

The men’s team is made-up of mostly Classics riders, including Oliver Naesen who recently came in second at the Eneco Tour and Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne champion Jasper Styuven, along with Nikolas Maes, Jens Keukeliere, Iljo Keisse,  Jens Debuscherre and Jurgen Roelandts.

Even the reserve list is peppered with strong riders, including Timothy Dupont, who has had a strong season, in particular the past month with seven podiums, three of which were wins.

Jolien D’Hoore is coming off a bronze medal in the Omnium at the Rio Games and a win at La Madrid Challenge with a strong sprint.

Competing in the time trials are the top-two from the national championships, Victor Campenaerts and Yves Lampaert, respectively. National champion Ann-Sophie Duyck will be the sole starter on the women’s side.