Bonifazio sprints to victory in Tour de Pologne stage 3

The third time was the charm for Niccolo Bonifazio (Trek-Segafredo) in the Tour de Pologne as he bettered the first two stage’s bunch finishes with his first WorldTour win, and first victory this year, in stage three Thursday.

After a fast start, the 240-kilometer race settled when the peloton consented to a five-man breakaway but similar to previous stages the final kilometers were thorny, this time with a few steep hills thrown in for measure.

The peloton split over the narrow roads and steep climb, but regrouped ahead of the final dash to the line, and this time Bonifazio made no mistake. In the last meters, he jumped around Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-Quick Step) to take the win by a bike length.

“I suffered on the steep climb 25 kilometers from the finish,” explained a jubilant Bonifazio. “But I followed the Etixx (Quick Step) train to get back to the bunch with Gaviria. I recovered and then in the sprint I decided to follow Gaviria’s wheel. I felt good, and I was able to pass him easily with 200 meters to go. I was confident I could do well in one of the sprints this week, and today everything went perfectly.

“I am so happy because since the beginning of the year I was searching for a victory. I dedicate this win to my teammates, they have helped me for three stages and today I was finally able to pay them back with the victory.”

Tour de Pologne 2016 – stage 3 results (Zawiercie – Nowy Sacz):

1 Niccolo Bonifazio (Trek-Segafredo)


2 Moreno Hofland (LottoNl-Jumbo)


3 Luka Mezgec (Orica-BikeExchange)


4 Heinrich Haussler (IAM)


5 Roman Maikin (Gazprom-Rusvelo)


6 Kristian Sbaragli (Dimension Data)


7 Ruslan Tleubayev (Astana)


8 Loic Vliegen (BMC)


9 Sacha Modolo (Lampre – Merida)


10 Koen De Kort (Giant-Alpecin)


General classification after stage 3:

1 Fernando Gaviria (Etixx – Quick-Step)


2 Niccolo Bonifazio (Trek-Segafredo)


3 Caleb Ewan (Orica-BikeExchange)


4 Moreno Hofland (LottoNl-Jumbo)


5 Diego Ulissi (Lampre – Merida)


6 Roman Maikin (Gazprom-Rusvelo)


7 Lorenzo Manzin (FDJ)


8 Sacha Modolo (Lampre – Merida)


9 Heinrich Haussler (IAM)


10 Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky)