Bodnar and Westra share the spoils in the last day of De Panne

Lieuwe Westra (Astana) snatched overall victory from Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) at the Thee Days of De Panne thanks to gaining vital seconds in the final 14.2km stage in De Panne.

Maciej Bodnar (Tinkoff) won the time trial in a time 17:39.29, beating Tony Martin (Etixx-QuickStep) and Ton Bohli (BMC) by less than a second.

Lutsenko and Kristoff both did good time trials to finish 7th and 8th respectively but it was not enough to defend their positions. In the end, Kristoff had to settle for second with a time loss of 13 seconds while Lutsenko was 3 seconds further adrift in third. Martin moved into fourth while former winner Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) rounded out the top 5.


Three Days of De Panne 2016 – stage 3b results (ITT De Panne):

1 Maciej Bodnar (Tinkoff)


2 Tony Martin (Etixx – QuickStep)


3 Tom Bohli (BMC)


4 Lieuwe Westra (Astana)


5 Johan Le Bon (FDJ)


6 Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


7 Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


8 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha)


9 Stefan Kueng (BMC)


10 Luke Durbridge (Orica-GreenEdge)



Final general classification:

1 Lieuwe Westra (Astana) 12:08:19
2 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha)


3 Alexey Lutsenko (Astana)


4 Tony Martin (Etixx – QuickStep)


5 Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie)


6 Luke Durbridge (Orica-GreenEdge)


7 Stefan Kueng (BMC)


8 Mads Pedersen (Stölting Service Group)


9 Nils Politt (Katusha)


10 Johan Le Bon (FDJ)