ASO announce teams for Tour de Yorkshire 2016

Eighteen cycling teams have been selected to take part inthe 2nd edition of the Tour de Yorkshire which will take place from April 29 to May 1. The race will be dominated by British teams as 8 of the 18 teams will be home squads.

Last year’s winner Lars Petter Nordhaug has the opportunity to defend his title as his Team Sky will be one of seven WorldTour teams competing in the race; joined by Orica-GreenEDGE, Giant-Alpecin, Katusha, LottoNL-Jumbo, Dimension Data and BMC Racing Team.

In fact this also means that all teams represented in the top 10 of the 2015 edition will return to the race in 2016. Only IAM Racing Team and the defunct Cult Energy Pro Cycling Team are not participants this year. They will be replaced by Katusha and Orica-GreenEDGE.

Teams invited:


Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits

Direct Energie

Team Giant – Alpecin

JLT Condor

Madison Genesis


One Pro Cycling

Team GB

Team Raleigh GAC

Team Sky

Team Wiggins

Team Katusha

Roompot – Oranje Peloton

Team Lotto NL – Jumbo

Team Dimension Data

BMC Racing Team