Megan Guarnier wins the Giro Rosa

Free Pass

Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) won the overall of the Giro Rosa, with teammate Evie Stevens taking second and Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) in third. The final stage was won by Rabo-Liv’s Thalita de Jong took the final stage win.

Nine leaders escaped the peloton, among them Riejanne Markus (Liv-Plantur), the third time in a break this race, last year’s stage 6 winner Mayuko Hagiwara (Wiggle-High5) and Maria Giuli Confalonieri (Lensworld-Zannata), who finished on the podium twice in the 2016 Giro Rosa already and was obviously looking for a third podium place when joining the break.

A group of six riders wanted to bridge the gap to the lead group, but ended up in a chasse patate and were brought back by the peloton at kilometer 70. Rabo-Liv’s Lucinda Brand, who’s been practicing her bunch sprints this Giro Rosa, and Canyon-SRAM’s Barbara Guarischi, 2015 Giro Rosa stage 1 winner, were represented in that group.

The GPM climb reduced the lead group to six riders, but Rabo-Liv’s Thalita de Jong didn’t wait for the sprint and left them behind on the descent.

After three podium places for Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv), one for teammate Kasia Niewiadoma and a second place for De Jong herself in the prologue, the world cyclocross champion finally delivered Rabo-Liv a last-minute stage win in the 2016 Giro Rosa. A couple of minutes later, Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) crossed the finish line, knowing she did it!

Final general classification:

1 Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans)


2 Evelyn Stevens (Boels Dolmans)


3 Anna Van Der Breggen (Rabo Liv)


4 Claudia Lichtenberg (Lotto Soudal)


5 Mara Abbott (Wiggle High5)


6 Tatiana Guderzo (Hitec Products)


7 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Rabo Liv)


8 Leah Kirchmann (Liv-Plantur)


9 Alena Amialiusik (Canyon SRAM)


10 Kseniya Tuhai (Bepink)


11 Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5)


12 Tetiana Riabchenko (INPA – Bianchi)


13 Yevgeniya Vysotska (Hagens Berman-Supoermint)


14 Doris Schweizer (Cylance Pro Cycling)


15 Karol-Ann Canuel (Boels Dolmans)


16 Margarita Victoria Garcia (Bizkaia – Durango)


17 Alice Maria Arzuffi (Lensworld-Zannata)


18 Malgorzta Jasinska (Ale’ Cipollini)


19 Thalita De Jong (Rabo Liv)


20 Rasa Leleivyte (Aromitalia Vaiano)


Studio Classes without Studio Prices at 24 Hour 	      Fitness!

Anna van der Breggen Evie Stevens giro rosa megan guarnier

Dialogue & Discussion