Fabian Cancellara wins Olympic time trial gold

Fabian Cancellara won gold in the Olympics time trial on the wet roads of Rio de Janiero Wednesday. The Swiss, a 2008 Olympics TT champion and four-time world champion in the TT, will retire at the end of 2016.

Cancellara rode a patient race as Australian Rohan Dennis clocked fast early splits in the 54.5km test. After the second climb of the Grumari circuit, Cancellara was clearly in charge. The Swiss Time Machine ended up winning the race with a time of 1:12:15.42.

Tom Dumoulin of the Netherlands was second, 47 seconds behind, while Tour de France champion Chris Froome won bronze, 1:02 back.


1 Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)


2 Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands)


3 Christopher Froome (Great Britain)


4 Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spain)


5 Rohan Dennis (Australia)


6 Maciej Bodnar (Poland)


7 Nelson Oliveira (Portugal)


8 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spain)


9 Geraint Thomas (Great Britain)


10 Primoz Roglic (Slovenia)


11 Leopold Konig (Czech Republic)


12 Tony Martin (Germany)


13 Simon Geschke (Germany)


14 Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland)


15 Jan Barta (Czech Republic)


16 Georg Preidler (Austria)


17 Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus)


18 Andriy Grivko (Ukraine)


19 Christopher Juul Jensen (Denmark)


20 Tim Wellens (Belgium)


Chris Froome fabian cancellara gold medal olympic games RIO 2016 time trial Tom dumoulin

Dialogue & Discussion