Degenkolb completes comeback after the life-threatening crash with a win at Sparkassen Münsterland Giro

John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) powered to victory in the Sparkassen Münsterland Giro where he was up against fellow sprinters André Greipel (Lotto Soudal) and Marcel Kittel (Etixx-QuickStep).

Münsterland Giro is one of the biggest German races and this year it attracted lots of attention as it had gathered the three German titans for a final battle less than two weeks before the race in Qatar.

Everybody expected a sprint finish but wet conditions in the finale made the race much harder than expected. Degenkolb excelled in the tough conditions and when the bunch split in the finale, he was the only of the three top sprinters to have made it into the 20-rider front group and in the end he beat Roy Jans and Pascal Ackermann in the final dash to the line.

“There was perfect team spirit today and I am delighted with the victory. It is really great to win in my home country. The team worked very hard throughout the whole race and gave me a great lead-out.”, said Degenkolb after the race.

“We reacted well on the late attacks in the finale. For the sprint I had the right position and could come through at the right moment, so that was fantastic.”

Sparkassen Münsterland Giro 2016 results:

1 John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin)


2 Roy Jans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


3 Pascal Ackermann (Rad-net Rose)


4 Matteo Trentin (Etixx – QuickStep)


5 Dion Smith (ONE)


6 Alan Banaszek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


7 Phil Bauhaus (Bora-Argon 18)


8 Gianni Meersman (Etixx – Quick-Step)


9 Robin Stenuit (Wanty – Groupe Gobert)


10 Bert Van Lerberghe (Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise)


crash giant-alpecin john degenkolb Pascal Ackermann roy jans Sparkassen Münsterland Giro

Dialogue & Discussion